NAB: We Are Broadcasters Celebration

Main Stage presentation of the NAB TV Chairman’s Award, Crystal Radio Awards and Engineering Achievement Awards. 

Every day of the year, local radio and broadcasters inform their communities, help neighbors in need, provide a lifeline during emergencies and deliver the most trusted news and favorite entertainment. This event celebrates local radio and television stations’ critical role in our communities and their ongoing commitment to innovating to better serve their listeners and viewers. Top-rated syndicated radio personality Rickey Smiley of “The Rickey Smiley Morning Show” will host the program.

Highlights during this celebration include the presentation of the TV Chairman’s Award to Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning actor Sterling K. Brown for his significant achievements in television; the recognition of 10 stations for their tremendous year-round commitment to community service with the Crystal Radio Awards; and the presentation of the Engineering Achievement Award for radio and television to individuals for their outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. The NAB Crystal Heritage Award will be presented to KFOR-AM, Lincoln, Nebraska.


Rickey Smiley

Rickey Smiley

Television Host, Actor & Radio Personality at Urban One, Inc.

We Are Broadcasters Celebration

Tuesday, April 9 | 3 p.m.
Main Stage, North Hall

Registration Access

Open to all registered attendees.

All-Badge Access

Packages Register


Cindy Hutter Cavell

Senior Broadcast Consulting Engineer Cavell, Mertz & Associates, Inc.

Cindy Hutter Cavell serves as Senior Broadcast Consulting Engineer at Cavell, Mertz & Associates, Inc. with a specialty in television station and microwave system design and implementation. Her career includes stints as director of operations at ABC News’ Washington Bureau, engineering director for several local TV stations, vice president of Fox Sport’s Houston Technical Operations Center, and broadcast engineering director for Sprint Communications. As part of the ABC Broadcast Operations and Engineering team, Cavell has won three Emmy Awards for Technical Innovation, is the recipient of the AWRT/SBE 2007 Outstanding Female Broadcast Engineer award and holds the 2015 TVNewsCheck Women in Technology Award.

Engineering Achievement Awards

Each year since 1959, NAB has presented the Engineering Achievement Award to individuals for their outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. In 1991, the Association began giving two awards – one for achievements in radio and the other for television.

Garrison C. Cavell

President Cavell, Mertz & Associates, Inc.

Garrison C. Cavell is the President of Cavell, Mertz & Associates, Inc. and has worked in management and technology positions in radio and television broadcasting for over 40 years. Prior to cofounding Cavell, Mertz and its predecessor consulting firms in 1989, Cavell worked in radio and television engineering management, facility design and construction, program production, and station systems development in his home town of New Orleans. Cavell served as editor in chief for the 11th Edition of the NAB Engineering Handbook and is an IEEE and SMPTE Life Member.

Engineering Achievement Awards

Each year since 1959, NAB has presented the Engineering Achievement Award to individuals for their outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. In 1991, the Association began giving two awards – one for achievements in radio and the other for television.


Lincoln, NE

“KFOR AM/FM has proudly served the Lincoln, NE region for over 94 years, and our commitment to the community has never wavered," said Alpha Media Lincoln’s Market Manager Julie Gade. "We are so proud of our team’s accomplishments both on and off the air and are honored that this dedication is being rewarded with a coveted NAB Crystal Heritage Award.”

NAB Crystal Heritage Award

Presented at the We Are Broadcasters Celebration.

The Heritage Award recognizes radio stations that have won a total of five Crystal Radio Awards for exceptional year-round community service efforts.

Previous inductees include WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C., WTMX-FM, Chicago, Ill., WLEN-FM, Adrian, Mich., KNOM – AM/FM Nome, Alaska, KUZZ – AM/FM, Bakersfield, Calif., KBHP-FM, Bemidji, Minn., WUSL-FM, Philadelphia, Penn.

Sterling K. Brown

Sterling K. Brown

Actor "This Is Us" and "Black Panther"

Brown currently stars in NBC’s “This Is Us.” He received an Emmy and a Golden Globe for the role, becoming the first African American actor to win Best Actor in a TV Series in the Golden Globe’s 75-year history. Brown was also the first African American actor to receive the SAG Award for Outstanding Male Actor in a Drama, and twice received a SAG award alongside his cast for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series.

In 2018, Brown co-starred in Marvel’s record-breaking and Oscar nominated blockbuster “Black Panther.” This year, he will star in four films, including Sony’s "Angry Birds 2," Paramount’s "The Rhythm Section," Disney’s "Frozen 2" and A24’s "Waves." In 2017, he co-starred in the drama “Marshall,” for which he received an NAACP Image Award nomination for his performance.

In 2016, Brown portrayed prosecutor Christopher Darden in FX’s highly-rated award-winning television event series “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.” He won an Emmy Award and Critics Choice Award for the role and was nominated for a Golden Globe, SAG Award and NAACP Image Award. He previously starred in Lifetime’s acclaimed series “Army Wives.” His other television appearances include hosting “Saturday Night Live,” “Brooklyn Nine-Nine,” “Insecure,” “Supernatural” and “Criminal Minds,” among others.

“Sterling Brown is a remarkably gifted actor who continues to break barriers with the range of characters he portrays on TV and the big screen,” said NAB Television Board Chairman Jordan Wertlieb. “We are honored to recognize Mr. Brown for his acting craft and his ability to connect with audiences of all types."

Television Chairman's Award

Recipient to be honored at the We Are Broadcasters Celebration.

Established to recognize individuals for significant achievement in one or more specific art disciplines in television, the NAB Television Chairman's Award first debuted in 2009 with four-time Emmy and two-time Golden Globe-winning actor Kelsey Grammar as the recipient.

The last recipient was television and film actress Kristin Bell in 2018.

The 2019 Crystal Radio Awards Winners

Ten Crystal Radio Award recipients will be chosen from these finalists by a panel of judges representing the broadcast industry, community service organizations and public relations firms.

KBHP-FM Bemidji, Minn.
KCVM-FM Cedar Falls, Iowa
KNDE-FM College Station, Texas
KWBG-AM Boone, Iowa
WMBX-FM West Palm Beach, Fla.

WMGK-FM Philadelphia, Pa.
WRLT-FM Nashville, TN.
WTAM-AM Cleveland, Ohio
WWPR-FM New York, NY.
WYCT-FM Pensacola, FL

Crystal Radio Awards

Prestigious award given annually to 10 NAB member radio stations for exhibiting excellence in year round community service.

Winners will be announced and the finalists honored at the We Are Broadcasters Celebration.


What are you waiting for?

Register Exhibit Sponsor