Awards Programs

Awards Programs

The following awards are presented at NAB Show® recognizing individuals and organizations for their significant contributions to the broadcast and entertainment industries or commitment to community service.

Awesome Cool Exhibits Awards

These peer-driven awards recognize NAB Show Exhibitors for their innovations in booth design and execution.

Congratulations to the 2017 Awesome Cool Exhibits Award Winners

Renewed Vision

Renewed Vision
Booth N6517

Linear Booth


Booth SL8620

Small Island


Booth SU7916

Medium Island

Imagine Communications

Imagine Communications
Booth SL1516

Large Island

Learn more about the Awesome Cool Exhibits Awards.

Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award honors the author(s) of a paper of exceptional merit published in the NAB Broadcast Engineering Conference Proceedings. The recipient of the award will be honored at the NAB Technology Luncheon.

Congratulations to the 2017 Best Paper Award Recipient

Best Paper Award Winner

Philipp Schmid, Nautel Ltd. author of "Single Frequency Networks for HD Radio" 


Broadcasting Hall of Fame

The NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame recognizes radio and television personalities or programs that have earned a place in broadcasting history. The inductees are honored at the NAB Radio and Television Luncheons. Previous honorees include American Idol, Dave Ramsey, Gary Marshall, Bob Uecker, Betty White, Larry Lujack and Saturday Night Live, among others.

Congratulations to the 2017 NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame Inductees

Maria Elena Salinas

Maria Elena Salinas, Co-Anchor, Noticiero Univision - Television Inductee


Delilah, Nationally Syndicated Radio Personality - Radio Inductee


Crystal Radio Awards

The NAB Crystal Radio Awards have recognized radio stations for their outstanding year-round commitment to community service. Fifty finalists are honored and ten winners are announced at the NAB Radio Luncheon.

Congratulations to the 2017 Crystal Radio Award Winners

NAB Crystal Radio Awards


Digital Leadership Award

The Digital Leadership Award is presented to an individual at a broadcast station, group or network who has had a significant role in transforming a traditional broadcast business to succeed on digital media platforms in a measurable way (e.g. new revenue, incremental revenue, audience growth, engagement, etc.) through the use of technology, mobile applications, social media, or web-based information management and marketing.  The award is presented at the NAB Technology Luncheon.

Congratulations to the 2017 Digital Leadership Award Recipient

Catherine Badalamente, Vice President Digital Media, Graham Media Group

Distinguished Service Award

Each year the NAB Distinguished Service Award recognizes broadcasters who have made significant and lasting contributions to the broadcasting industry. The Distinguished Service Award is presented at the NAB Show Opening each year. Past recipients include Bob Schieffer, Eddie Fritts, Mary Tyler Moore, President Reagan, Edward R. Murrow, Bob Hope, Walter Cronkite, Oprah Winfrey and Charles Osgood, among others.

Congratulations to the 2017 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

David Hartman and Joan Lunden - NAB Distinguished Service Award Recipients

David Hartman, Journalist and Media Host and Joan Lunden, Journalist, Author and Television Host


Engineering Achievement Award

This award is given each year to a radio and television industry leader for lifetime contributions who have advanced the state of the art of broadcast engineering. Winners are honored at the NAB Technology Luncheon.

Congratulations to the 2017 Recipients of the Engineering Achievement Awards

John Kean - 2017 NAB Engineering Achievement Award Honoree

John Kean, Senior Engineer, Cavell, Mertz & Associates - Radio Honoree

John Lyons - NAB Engineering Achievement Award Honoree

John Lyons, Assistant VP/Director of Broadcast Communications, The Durst Organization - Television Honoree


Television Chairman's Award

This award was established in 2009 to recognize individuals for significant groundbreaking work in one or more specific art disciplines in television. Past year's honorees include Jim Parsons and Kelsey Grammer.

Congratulations to the 2017 Television Chairman's Award Winner

NAB Crystal Radio Awards

America Ferrera, Actress and Producer


Technology Innovation Award

First presented at the 2009 NAB Show, this award recognizes organizations that bring advanced technology exhibits and demonstrations of significant merit to NAB Show. The nominated exhibit should present advanced research and development projects in communications technologies that have not yet been commercialized. The award will be presented at the NAB Technology Luncheon.

Congratulations to the 2017 Technology Innovation Award Recipient

Technology Innovation Award Recipient

b<>com for Demonstration of SDR-to-HDR Up-conversion Technology, Vital to the Transition to Next Generation Television Broadcasting